Jane and the Year Without a Summer

Upcoming Jane Austen Mystery:

Jane and the Year Without a Summer

Book 14 coming February 8, 2022

May 1816: Jane Austen is feeling unwell, and her apothecary recommends a trial of the curative waters at Cheltenham Spa, in Gloucestershire. But the Spa hardly turns out to be the relaxing sojourn Jane and her sister envisaged, as it is immediately obvious that the other guests have come to Cheltenham with stresses of their own—some of them deadly…

Latest Nantucket Mystery:

Death on Tuckernuck

In the Category 3 winds of a late-season hurricane, Nantucket police detective Merry Folger and her team attempt a rescue off the secluded island of Tuckernuck—only to discover a deadly secret…

“Readers will keep turning the pages to see what happens next. Mathews once again displays her storytelling powers.”
Publishers Weekly

Death on Tuckernuck

Praise for Francine Mathews / Stephanie Barron

“The author excels at both period detail and modern verve…. Sparkling.”
Publishers Weekly

“Barron writes a lively adventure that puts warm flesh on historical bones.”
The New York Times Book Review

“Mathews writes well, keeps the pace brisk and has great fun re-creating historical personages.”
Kirkus Reviews

“…intelligent, passionate, and unceasingly entertaining.”
—Author Stephen White

“Mathews writes appealingly, making her characters human, fallible, and thoughtful…”
—Library Journal


Francine Mathews/Stephanie Barron was born in Binghamton, New York, the last of six girls. She attended Princeton and Stanford Universities, where she studied history, before going on to work as an intelligence analyst at the CIA. She wrote her first book in 1992 and left the Agency a year later. Since then, she has written over 20 books, including the critically acclaimed Nantucket Mystery series, the Jane Austen Mystery series, and a number of historical fiction and thriller novels. She lives and works in Denver, Colorado.

Francine Mathews/Stephanie Barron